Choosing a Tennis Racket

Dec 8, 2020 | Tennis

Tennis Rackets

What are the right tennis racket and grip size for a new high school tennis player?

Quick Tips

  • Plan to have two matching rackets (strings break)
    • Try one first, then buy the second one 
  • Get the correct grip size
  • Youth age 14 and over, get an adult 27-inch racket
  • Get a graphite/composite racket
  • Expect to spend $80 or more on a new “quality” racket
  • A gently used high-quality racket is better than a cheap racket
  • The best racket for the player depends upon swing style and a player’s physical approach to the game
Here is some information to help choose a good racket for a new high school tennis player and get the right grip size. Head makes several good rackets that sell for less than $100. Some of these models used to be their $200 rackets. You can generally get a reasonably good frame for $80-$100 in an older model. The less expensive aluminum rackets at local retail box stores are sufficient for learning to contact the ball, but you will want to upgrade your racket and strings as you improve. A high quality modern tennis racket improves performance and physical comfort. 

UPCOMING EVENTS

February 2023

Thursday February 9

4:00 pm – 9:00 pm
at Early County

Friday February 10

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Northside Warner Robins

Monday February 13

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Thomasville

Thursday February 16

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Cook County (non-region)

Friday February 17

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
at Veterans

Tuesday February 21

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Tift County

Thursday February 23

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
at Lee County

Friday February 24

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
at Houston County

Monday February 27

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Bainbridge (non-region)

Tuesday February 28

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Cairo (non-region)