Ep 3 Case Theory and Theme

Dec 6, 2019 | Mock Trial Team

In this episode, the mock trial participant learns about the basic building blocks of case theory and theme. A sound case theory forms the foundation for everything else in a trial, particularly the opening statement and closing argument.

Most of the discussion in this episode concerns case theory. A case theory comprises three interrelated parts:

  • the LEGAL theory, that is the law that entitles you to the relief you are seeking
  • the FACTUAL theory, that is the story or facts that satisfy your legal theory, and
  • the PERSUASIVE theory, that is why you should win as a matter of fairness and justice.

UPCOMING EVENTS

February 2023

Thursday February 9

4:00 pm – 9:00 pm
at Early County

Friday February 10

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Northside Warner Robins

Monday February 13

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Thomasville

Thursday February 16

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Cook County (non-region)

Friday February 17

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
at Veterans

Tuesday February 21

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Tift County

Thursday February 23

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
at Lee County

Friday February 24

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
at Houston County

Monday February 27

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Bainbridge (non-region)

Tuesday February 28

4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Cairo (non-region)